ILMINSTER TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES

Minutes of a meeting of the **ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING** held in the Council Chamber, Ilminster on Tuesday 14th May 2013 at 19:30hrs

Present

Chairman: Cllr R Swann, (until the appointment of Mayor)

Cllr E J Taylor (for the remainder of the meeting)

Vice Chairman: Cllr L Vijeh

Councillors: Cllr P Burton, Cllr C Goodall, Cllr D Miller, Cllr J Pallister, Cllr A Shearman,

Cllr S Shepherd, Cllr J Sothern, and Cllr S Storey.

In Attendance

Officers: Mrs M Clayton, (Senior Administrator), Miss N McIntosh (Administrative Assistant),

Miss J Norris (Town Clerk).

1. Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Austin and Lawson.

2. Declarations of Interest

None.

3. Appointment of Mayor

Current Mayor Roger Swann invited nominations for Mayor of Ilminster for the year to May 2014.

Cllr Swann nominated Cllr Taylor seconded by Cllr Shearman.

There were no more nominations and it was therefore,

RESOLVED that Cllr Taylor be Mayor of Ilminster for the year to May 2014.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Cllr Taylor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office in the presence of the Town Clerk as Proper Officer, and fellow Councillors, Cllr Taylor then took the Chair.

5. Appointment of Deputy Mayor

The Mayor invited nominations for Deputy Mayor.

The following proposals were received for the appointment of Deputy Mayor

Councillor Taylor nominated Cllr Lawson this was seconded by Cllr Shearman.

Councillor Shepherd nominated Cllr Vijeh this was seconded by Cllr Miller.

Councillor Shepherd, in accordance with Standing Orders, requested a recorded vote and the record is attached to these minutes as Appendix A.

A vote was taken with the majority vote given to Cllr Vijeh, it was therefore

RESOLVED that Cllr Vijeh be Deputy Mayor of Ilminster for the year to May 2014.

6. Minutes of the Council Meeting held on 7th May 2013

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Council Meeting held on the 7th May 2013 be confirmed as a correct record.

Chair's Initials

ILMINSTER TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES

7. Appointment of Committees and Committee Chairs

a) Finance & Policy Committee

Councillor Shepherd proposed Councillor Miller to be Chair of Finance & Policy Committee this was seconded by Councillor Swann. There were no more nominations.

RESOLVED that Councillor Miller be Chair of the Finance and Policy Committee for the year to May 2014.

b) Open Spaces Committee

Councillor Pallister proposed Councillor Goodall to be Chair of Open Spaces

Committee seconded by Councillor Swann. There were no more nominations.

RESOLVED that Councillor Goodall be Chair of Open Spaces Committee for the year to May 2014.

c) Planning Committee

The following proposals for Chair of Planning Committee were received.

Councillor Vijeh nominated Councillor Shepherd.

Councillor Burton nominated Councillor Shearman.

Councillor Shepherd declined to be nominated as chair of Planning Committee.

Following a vote it was:

RESOLVED that Councillor Shearman be Chair of Planning Committee for the year to May 2014.

d) Staffing Committee

RESOLVED that Councillor Taylor is to be Chair of Committee with Councillor Vijeh as Vice Chair, with Councillors Swann, Shepherd and Sothern.

Appeals Committee

RESOLVED that Councillors Austin and Burton remain on the Appeals committee with Councillor Storey as a named reserve.

Grievance, Capability and Disciplinary Committee

RESOLVED that Councillor Vijeh is Chair of Grievance, Capability and Disciplinary Committee with Councillors Shearman, Shepherd and Sothern and Councillors Goodall and Miller as reserves.

8. Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

RESOLVED that the following members represent the Council on Outside Bodies for the year to May 2014.

Christmas Lights – Cllr J Pallister

Chamber of Commerce – Cllr C Goodall, Cllr E J Taylor

Greenfylde School - To be appointed at a future Council Meeting

Ile Valley Children's Centre – Cllr C Goodall

Ilminster Education Foundation – Cllr S Shepherd, Cllr R Swann

Ile Youth Centre – Cllr P Burton

Ilminster Forum - Cllr A Lawson

Ilminster Tourism – Cllr S Storey

Meeting House – Cllr J Sothern

MTIG- Cllr C Goodall, Cllr E J Taylor

SALC - Cllr D Miller

Swanmead School – Cllr S Storey

Twinning Association – To be appointed at a future Council Meeting

Chair's Initials

ILMINSTER TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES

Wadham School - Cllr S Shepherd

9. Appointment of Cheque Signatories

RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed as Cheque Signatories for the year to May 2014; Cllrs Goodall, Miller, Shepherd, Swann and Taylor.

10. Parish Path Liaison Officer

Councillor Goodall nominated Councillor Swann seconded by Councillor Shepherd. **RESOLVED** that Councillor Swann be Ilminster Parish Path Liaison Officer.

11. Calendar of Meetings for 2013/14

The Calendar of Meetings for 2013/14 was approved.

The meeting closed at 20:15 hrs.

Chair's Sig	gnature & I	Date	